Daily Devotion

June 13, 2021

đź“– Scripture of Today:

Mark 4:26-29 ESV

26 And he said, “The kingdom of God is as if a man should scatter seed on the ground. 27 He sleeps and rises night and day, and the seed sprouts and grows; he knows not how. 28 The earth produces by itself, first the blade, then the ear, then the full grain in the ear. 29 But when the grain is ripe, at once he puts in the sickle, because the harvest has come.”

đź’ˇ Thought of Today:

When I was in middle school, I found it impossible to sleep in on Saturday mornings because I was always afraid that I was missing out on something, that life-changing events were going on without me.

Turns out, I was right.

If this parable is to be believed, things are happening in the dark while we’re asleep. Big things. God-sized things.

The funny thing is, though, this reality is not meant to cause us to lose sleep but just the opposite. Knowing that God is at work when we’re at rest, according to Jesus, should allow us to rest easy. Instead of the dreaded FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out), we’re invited to experience the liberating Rest Of Trusting God.

And wouldn’t it be a shame to miss out on that?

🙏🏽 Prayer of Today:

God, sometimes I feel like everything depends on me. Help me to rest in the knowledge that you are working behind the scenes, even when I’m asleep, to help your kingdom grow. Please give me a heart of wonder to wake up to the joy of your work, Amen.

One thought on “Daily Devotion

Leave a comment